[NA] Nebula Award for Best Novel

Nebula Award for Best Novel [NA]

Given annually since 1965

The baby of the sci-fi award family. It started with a bang in 1965 when it was given to perhaps (perhaps) the most famous sci-fi novel of all time. It then hit a number of greats over the following decade: Flowers for Algernon, The Left Hand of Darkness, and Rendezvous with Rama, among others. Though it has found some diamonds since then (notably Neuromancer and Ender’s Game) the sci-fi genre has, in recent decades, failed to score a crossover cultural hit.

Nineteen books have won both the Nebula and the other sci-fi annual award, the Hugo [HA]. This means you will see a good deal of them appear on the master list.

Winners can be found here. Ones listed below in RED appear on the Master List.


1966 Frank Herbert* Dune
1967 Samuel R. Delany+ Babel-17
1967 Daniel Keyes+ Flowers for Algernon
1968 Samuel R. Delany* The Einstein Intersection
1969 Alexei Panshin* Rite of Passage
1970 Ursula K. Le Guin* The Left Hand of Darkness
1971 Larry Niven* Ringworld
1972 Robert Silverberg* A Time of Changes
1973 Isaac Asimov* The Gods Themselves
1974 Arthur C. Clarke* Rendezvous with Rama
1975 Ursula K. Le Guin* The Dispossessed
1976 Joe Haldeman* The Forever War
1977 Frederik Pohl* Man Plus
1978 Frederik Pohl* Gateway
1979 Vonda N. McIntyre* Dreamsnake
1980 Arthur C. Clarke* The Fountains of Paradise
1981 Gregory Benford* Timescape
1982 Gene Wolfe* The Claw of the Conciliator
1983 Michael Bishop* No Enemy But Time
1984 David Brin* Startide Rising
1985 William Gibson* Neuromancer
1986 Orson Scott Card* Ender’s Game
1987 Orson Scott Card* Speaker for the Dead
1988 Pat Murphy* The Falling Woman
1989 Lois McMaster Bujold* Falling Free
1990 Elizabeth Ann Scarborough* The Healer’s War
1991 Ursula K. Le Guin* Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea
1992 Michael Swanwick* Stations of the Tide
1993 Connie Willis* Doomsday Book
1994 Kim Stanley Robinson* Red Mars
1995 Greg Bear* Moving Mars
1996 Robert J. Sawyer* The Terminal Experiment
1997 Nicola Griffith* Slow River
1998 Vonda N. McIntyre* The Moon and the Sun
1999 Joe Haldeman* Forever Peace
2000 Octavia E. Butler* Parable of the Talents
2001 Greg Bear* Darwin’s Radio
2002 Catherine Asaro* The Quantum Rose
2003 Neil Gaiman* American Gods
2004 Elizabeth Moon* The Speed of Dark
2005 Lois McMaster Bujold* Paladin of Souls
2006 Joe Haldeman* Camouflage
2007 Jack McDevitt* Seeker
2008 Michael Chabon* The Yiddish Policemen’s Union
2009 Ursula K. Le Guin* Powers
2010 Paolo Bacigalupi* The Windup Girl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: