[HA] Hugo Award for Best Novel

Hugo Award for Best Novel [HA]

Given annually since 1953

A sci-fi/fantasy novel award. Like any annual literary award, the Hugo suffers from irregularity in the quality of the field. It’s feast or famine. In the case of the Hugo and its cousin award, the Nebula, there is a fair track record of awarding great books. The worst that can be said about them, and sci-fi in general, is that women are rarely fully conceived characters and the dialogue might slip occasionally into technomumbojumbo. But hey, it’s sci-fi. One other note. The Hugo and Nebula have awarded the same book a total of nineteen times since 1965 when the Nebula was launched. Some of those winners have likely aged badly since. But all the same, twenty sci-fi books on a list of more than 1000 titles is not overkill.

Winners here. Those that made the Master List are listed below in RED.

1953 Alfred Bester* The Demolished Man
1955 Mark Clifton and Frank Riley* They’d Rather Be Right (also known asThe Forever Machine)
1956 Robert A. Heinlein* Double Star
1958 Fritz Leiber* The Big Time
1959 James Blish* A Case of Conscience
1960 Robert A. Heinlein* Starship Troopers
1961 Walter M. Miller, Jr.* A Canticle for Leibowitz
1962 Robert A. Heinlein* Stranger in a Strange Land
1963 Philip K. Dick* The Man in the High Castle
1964 Clifford D. Simak* Here Gather the Stars (also known asWay Station)
1965 Fritz Leiber* The Wanderer
1966 Frank Herbert* (tie) Dune
1966 Roger Zelazny* (tie) …And Call Me Conrad (also known asThis Immortal)
1967 Robert A. Heinlein* The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress
1968 Roger Zelazny* Lord of Light
1969 John Brunner* Stand on Zanzibar
1970 Ursula K. Le Guin* The Left Hand of Darkness
1971 Larry Niven* Ringworld
1972 Philip José Farmer* To Your Scattered Bodies Go
1973 Isaac Asimov* The Gods Themselves
1974 Arthur C. Clarke* Rendezvous with Rama
1975 Ursula K. Le Guin* The Dispossessed
1976 Joe Haldeman* The Forever War
1977 Kate Wilhelm* Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang
1978 Frederik Pohl* Gateway
1979 Vonda N. McIntyre* Dreamsnake
1980 Arthur C. Clarke* The Fountains of Paradise
1981 Joan D. Vinge* The Snow Queen
1982 C. J. Cherryh* Downbelow Station
1983 Isaac Asimov* Foundation’s Edge
1984 David Brin* Startide Rising
1985 William Gibson* Neuromancer
1986 Orson Scott Card* Ender’s Game
1987 Orson Scott Card* Speaker for the Dead
1988 David Brin* The Uplift War
1989 C. J. Cherryh* Cyteen
1990 Dan Simmons* Hyperion
1991 Lois McMaster Bujold* The Vor Game
1992 Lois McMaster Bujold* Barrayar
1993 Vernor Vinge* (tie) A Fire Upon the Deep
1993 Connie Willis* (tie) Doomsday Book
1994 Kim Stanley Robinson* Green Mars
1995 Lois McMaster Bujold* Mirror Dance
1996 Neal Stephenson* The Diamond Age
1997 Kim Stanley Robinson* Blue Mars
1998 Joe Haldeman* Forever Peace
1999 Connie Willis* To Say Nothing of the Dog
2000 Vernor Vinge* A Deepness in the Sky
2001 J. K. Rowling* Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
2002 Neil Gaiman* American Gods
2003 Robert J. Sawyer* Hominids
2004 Lois McMaster Bujold* Paladin of Souls
2005 Susanna Clarke* Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
2006 Robert Charles Wilson* Spin
2007 Vernor Vinge* Rainbows End
2008 Michael Chabon* The Yiddish Policemen’s Union
2009 Neil Gaiman* The Graveyard Book
2010 Paolo Bacigalupi* (tie) The Windup Girl


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: