Finishing Middlemarch

To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, my dislike of realism is the rage of Caliban seeing his own face in a glass. 

I’m at fault for not having the maturity and commitment to continue blogging about Middlemarch though I was not enamored with it. But so what? The list goes on and I am still reading so let’s pick another and keep on with the show. I will say that though I didn’t have the heart to write about it (one can only type out one’s boredom so often) I did actually finish reading it. On my plate next is 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke, a book written in tandem with the screenplay of the eponymous film. Let’s see if it is equally groundbreaking.

Leave a Reply

